Labour’s National Executive Committee

The work of the NEC

The National Executive Committee is the governing body and the administrative authority of the Labour Party that oversees the overall direction of the party and the policy-making process. It carries out this role by setting strategic objectives on an annual basis and meeting regularly to review the work of the party in these areas.

All members of the NEC are members of the National Policy Forum. This body oversees the development of party policy through a rolling programme of policy development. Throughout the year, NEC members participate with shadow government ministers in Labour Party policy commissions that prepare reports on different areas of policy which are then presented to and consulted on with the party membership before going to annual conference.

This forms the basis of Labour’s general election manifesto. The NEC is also responsible for upholding the rules of the party and propriety of Labour selection processes.

Who’s on the NEC?

The NEC is structured so as to represent all key stakeholders in the party.

Leader of the Labour Party Jeremy Corbyn MP
Deputy Leader of the Labour Party Tom Watson MP
Treasurer Diana Holland
Opposition Front Bench  Jon Trickett MP
Opposition Front Bench  Rebecca Long-Bailey MP
Opposition Front Bench  Kate Osamor MP
Shadow Scottish Frontbench Kezia Dugdale MSP
Welsh Government Frontbench Alun Davies AM
EPLP Leader  Glenis Willmott MEP
Young Labour Jasmin Beckett
Div. I - Trade Unions Keith Birch
Div. I - Trade Unions Jim Kennedy
Div. I - Trade Unions Andi Fox
Div. I - Trade Unions Pauline McCarthy
Div. I - Trade Unions Paddy Lillis
Div. I - Trade Unions Wendy Nichols
Div. I -Trade Unions Andy Kerr
Div. I - Trade Unions Martin Mayer
Div. I - Trade Unions Mary Turner
Div. I - Trade Unions Jennie Formby
Div. I - Trade Unions Cath Speight
Div. I - Trade Unions Jamie Bramwell
Div. II - Socialist Societies James Asser
Div. II - BAME Labour Keith Vaz MP
Div. III - CLPs Ann Black
Div. III - CLPs Rhea Wolfson
Div. III - CLPs Claudia Webbe
Div. III - CLPs Darren Williams
Div. III - CLPs Pete Willsman
Div. III - CLPs Christine Shawcroft
Div. IV - Labour Councillors Nick Forbes
Div. IV - Labour Councillors Alice Perry
Div. V - PLP/EPLP George Howarth MP
Div. V - PLP/EPLP Margaret Beckett MP
Div. V - PLP/EPLP Shabana Mahmood MP


See here for information on the committees of the NEC.

Back to Top